For a short headline, the best AI thumbnail generator for YouTube is no longer decided by spelling. On 4 October 2026 we gave three image models the same thumbnail brief, a reference photo plus the four-word headline "I TRIED EVERY AI", and all three spelled it right on the first try and kept the face. So pick by the rest: Pikzels or vidIQ to put your face in every thumbnail, 1of10 or Thumblify to start free without a card, and YouTube Studio's Test & Compare to see which thumbnail wins.
- Lowest paid price of the tools compared: Thumblify Basic, $4 a month billed yearly ($48) for 800 credits, which Thumblify says is up to 40 thumbnails a month.
- Most YouTube-specific: Pikzels, $40 a month or $28 a month billed yearly ($336), up to 1,800 thumbnails a year, with trained "Personas" of your face.
- Free plan with no card: 1of10, 60 credits a month, alongside its YouTube research tools.
- Several image models side by side: SayMaker. GPT Image 2.5, GPT Image 2 and Nano Banana 2 on one credit balance, from $8.33 a month billed yearly ($100 a year).
- Testing which thumbnail wins: YouTube Studio's own Test & Compare, or Thumbnail Test from $29 a month.
![]()
The best AI thumbnail generator for YouTube, compared (read 4 Oct 2026)
Prices come from each tool's own pricing page or help center; where a page blocked our check or hid prices behind a sign-up, the cell says so.
| AI thumbnail generator | Best for | Free tier | Cheapest paid plan | Your face from a photo | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SayMaker | Several image models on one balance, plus an agent | 20 credits on sign-up (5 without an account); free runs carry a small corner mark | Starter $100/yr ($8.33/mo), 800 credits a month | Yes, image-to-image on GPT Image 2.5 and Nano Banana models | 4 Oct 2026 |
| Pikzels (pikzels.com) | Thumbnails and titles only, high volume | Free trial | Premium $40/mo, or $28/mo billed $336/yr | Yes, "Personas", 50 credits to train | 4 Oct 2026 |
| 1of10 (1of10.com) | Research plus generation | 60 credits a month, no card | Basic $19/mo, or $15/mo billed $180/yr, 150 credits | Not stated on the pricing page | 4 Oct 2026 |
| vidIQ (vidiq.com) | Thumbnails inside a growth suite | Free plan with a limited number of thumbnails a month | Boost $16.58/mo billed yearly ($199) | Yes, face swap from a shoulders-up photo | 4 Oct 2026 |
| Thumblify (thumblify.co) | Lowest paid price | 250 credits (up to 12 thumbnails) a month, 720p, watermarked, public | Basic $4/mo billed yearly ($48), 800 credits | Yes, "AI Face Integration" on paid plans | 4 Oct 2026 |
| Thumbmagic (thumbmagic.co) | Thumbnails from a video link | 3 generations (6 thumbnails), per Thumbmagic's own blog | Not shown without an account | Not stated | 4 Oct 2026 |
| Click Studio (clickstudio.co) | Face and brand kit | Free trial | Behind sign-up | Yes, "from your face" | 4 Oct 2026 |
| Adobe Express (adobe.com) | Firefly images inside an editor | Free plan | Premium US$9.99/mo, listed as a first-year offer | Not stated | 4 Oct 2026 |
| Ideogram (ideogram.ai) | Text-heavy designs | Free plan | Plus $20/mo, or $180/yr | Not stated | 4 Oct 2026 |
| ChatGPT (our ChatGPT image page) | One-off thumbnails in a chat | Free plan with limits | openai.com blocked our check | Yes, upload a photo | 4 Oct 2026 |
| CapCut (capcut.com) | Free thumbnails next to the video editor | Free AI thumbnail maker | Not needed for the tool | Yes, "add faces" | 4 Oct 2026 |
Eleven rows, and a few clear groups. Pikzels, Thumblify, Thumbmagic and Click Studio do thumbnails and little else. vidIQ and 1of10 put a generator next to YouTube research. Adobe Express and CapCut are editors that gained an AI button. ChatGPT, Ideogram and SayMaker give you the image models directly.
![]()
One brief, three image models: what an AI thumbnail generator actually draws
Most AI thumbnail generators do not say which image model draws the picture. So we skipped the apps and ran the models. On 4 October 2026 we made a 1536×1024 reference photo of a fictional creator, then sent one brief to three OpenAI image models through an OpenAI-compatible image API. These are the same models SayMaker sells on its image generator.
| Model | Headline spelled right | Face, hair and hoodie kept | Output size | Price on SayMaker at 1K |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT Image 2.5 | Yes, first try | Yes | 1672×941 | 25 credits |
| GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Yes, first try | Yes | 1672×940 | 25 credits |
| GPT Image 2 | Yes, first try | Yes | 1672×941 | 10 credits |
All three spelled the headline right, kept the face and filled the background. The differences sat in the background. GPT Image 2.5 filled its floating windows with recognizable pictures (a portrait, a dog, a mountain range). GPT Image 2 drew mostly empty interface panels. At phone size, where a thumbnail is judged, the three read almost the same.
![]()
This test used one short English headline and one reference photo, and it did not include Nano Banana 2, Seedream or Qwen. For a long or non-English headline, run your exact words through two models before you pay for a year.
Here is the brief, so you can paste it into any AI thumbnail generator that takes a reference photo:
YouTube thumbnail, 16:9 landscape. Use the man from the reference photo — keep his face, curly hair and mustard hoodie exactly the same. Place him on the right third of the frame, close-up from the chest up, with a wide-eyed, mouth-open surprised expression. Left side: big bold white sans-serif headline with a thick black outline that reads exactly "I TRIED EVERY AI" on two lines. Behind him, a glowing laptop screen and a few floating app windows, saturated teal-and-orange lighting, high contrast, crisp edges, readable at phone size. No other text, no logos, no watermark.
Pick an AI thumbnail generator by the job
Your face in every thumbnail
Pikzels trains a "Persona" of your face for 50 credits and reuses it. Thumblify calls the same idea "AI Face Integration", and vidIQ asks for a clear shoulders-up photo for its face swap. vidIQ's help center warns that uploading a whole 16:9 video frame as the subject can make the generation fail, so crop to your face first. On SayMaker, attach your photo in the image generator and describe the thumbnail. An edit keeps the shape of the photo you upload, so start from a 16:9 photo if you want a 16:9 thumbnail.
![]()
Text-heavy thumbnails and headlines in other languages
Pikzels says its generator works in any language: you prompt in English, French or Spanish and it adapts. For a non-English headline, run your exact words through two models before you commit. Our test only covered a short English headline. SayMaker also carries Qwen Image 3 and Seedream 5 Pro; they were not part of this test.
Square covers for Spotify and podcasts
YouTube itself asks for 1:1 artwork on podcast playlists and 9:16 on Shorts. On SayMaker the GPT Image models offer 1:1, 16:9, 9:16, 4:3 and 3:4 in text-to-image, so one prompt can make the YouTube and Spotify versions.
Testing two thumbnails against each other
YouTube Studio has its own Test & Compare feature for thumbnails, documented in YouTube Help. Thumbnail Test runs unlimited A/B tests from $29 a month (Pro $49, Business $99) with a 14-day money-back guarantee.
Thumbnails from a video link, or before the video exists
Thumbmagic builds thumbnails from a link to your video, and TubeGen sells YouTube automation with thumbnails included. You do not need a published video for the others: a title and a photo are enough, so you can make the thumbnail before you record. To turn the finished thumbnail into a short teaser clip, the same photo-to-video steps are in our product photo to video guide.
Free AI thumbnail generator plans and their limits
"Free" means something different on every pricing page. 1of10, Thumblify and SayMaker let you start without a card; Pikzels and Click Studio offer free trials instead of a free plan. What we found on 4 October 2026:
| Free tier | What you get | Catch |
|---|---|---|
| 1of10 Free | 60 credits a month, no card | Credits are shared with its other AI tools |
| Thumblify Free | 250 credits, up to 12 thumbnails a month | 720p on most models, watermarked exports, generations appear in a public library |
| Thumbmagic | 3 generations (6 thumbnails), no watermark | Figure from Thumbmagic's own comparison post |
| vidIQ Free | A limited number of thumbnails a month | The exact number is not on its help page |
| SayMaker | 20 credits on sign-up, 5 without an account | Free accounts use SayMaker Image v1 and Nano Banana 2 Lite; GPT Image models need a plan or credit pack; small corner mark on free runs |
| CapCut | Free AI thumbnail maker on capcut.com | We did not check its sign-in or export limits |
![]()
Thumblify's free generations appear in its public library, so keep unreleased-video artwork off that plan. And a free tier that exports at 720p falls short of what YouTube now recommends for a custom thumbnail.
![]()
Does YouTube allow AI thumbnails?
Yes. YouTube's help page (read 4 Oct 2026) on disclosing altered or synthetic content lists "using generative AI tools to create or improve a video outline, script, thumbnail, title, or infographic" among the production assistance creators do not need to disclose. The disclosure rule covers realistic content in the video itself, such as making a real person appear to say or do something they didn't.
Two limits still apply. YouTube says every thumbnail must follow its Community Guidelines, and that includes AI-made images. And its impersonation policy covers thumbnails and other images, so do not put a real person's face on a thumbnail in a way that makes the video look like theirs.
Copyright is the other question for monetized channels. Keep logos, game characters and other people's artwork out of the prompt, and read each tool's terms on commercial use: on SayMaker, paid plans and credit packs include a commercial license and free runs do not.
YouTube's current specs (read 4 Oct 2026): a recommended 3840×2160 thumbnail for videos, minimum width 640 pixels, 16:9 for videos, 9:16 for Shorts and 1:1 for podcast playlists, JPG or PNG, under 2 MB from mobile or 50 MB from desktop.
Make a thumbnail with the SayMaker AI thumbnail generator
No design experience needed: a title and one photo are enough. Two ways in:
- Image generator: pick GPT Image 2.5 or GPT Image 2, set 16:9, paste the brief above with your headline, and attach your photo for your own face. GPT Image 2 costs 10 credits at 1K; GPT Image 2.5 costs 25 at 1K and 40 at 2K.
- SayMaker Agent: describe the video and attach your photo ("thumbnail for a video called I tried every AI, use my face"). The agent writes the prompt, picks the model and shows the credits before it runs.
The Starter plan's 9,600 credits a year (800 a month) cover 32 GPT Image 2.5 thumbnails at 1K or 80 on GPT Image 2.
AI thumbnail generator FAQ
Does YouTube accept AI-generated thumbnails?
Yes. YouTube's own help page names generating a thumbnail with AI as production assistance that does not need a disclosure. The thumbnail still has to follow the Community Guidelines.
Can ChatGPT make a YouTube thumbnail?
Yes. Upload a photo, describe the layout and give the exact headline in quotes. In our test, OpenAI's GPT Image 2.5 and GPT Image 2 both spelled a four-word headline correctly on the first try. Ask for 16:9 and check the size before uploading.
How do you make AI thumbnails for YouTube?
Put the headline in quotes, attach a clear face photo, ask for a 16:9 thumbnail and export JPG or PNG. YouTube recommends 3840×2160 thumbnails, 640 pixels wide at minimum (read 4 Oct 2026).
Which AI thumbnail generator is free?
1of10 gives 60 credits a month with no card, Thumblify gives up to 12 watermarked thumbnails a month, Thumbmagic lists 3 free generations, and SayMaker gives 20 credits on sign-up. CapCut lists its AI thumbnail maker as free.
Sources for this AI thumbnail generator comparison
- Pricing pages read 4 Oct 2026: pikzels.com/pricing, 1of10.com/pricing, thumblify.co/pricing, thumbnailtest.com/pricing, ideogram.ai/pricing, vidiq.com/plans, adobe.com/express, SayMaker pricing. The ChatGPT pricing page blocked automated reads; its row says so.
- vidIQ Help Center, "Thumbnails" (support.vidiq.com). Thumbmagic's comparison post (thumbmagic.co/blog/best-ai-thumbnail-maker). Click Studio's homepage (clickstudio.co).
- YouTube Help: Add custom thumbnails (support.google.com/youtube/answer/72431), Disclosing altered or synthetic content (answer/14328491), Impersonation policy (answer/9229980), A/B test titles and thumbnails.
- Our run: one reference photo of a fictional creator, one brief, three models through an OpenAI-compatible image API, 4 October 2026.
On our four-word brief, all three models got the headline right, so compare them on your own thumbnail. Open the SayMaker image generator, set 16:9, paste the brief with your headline and your photo, and compare GPT Image 2 against GPT Image 2.5 on your own thumbnail.


